All I Want for Breast Cancer Awareness Month Is … Day 24

Ann Van Haney
3 min readOct 25, 2022

--

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month in the US. What’s on this survivor’s mind? Check back for a bite-sized insight every day from now until Halloween.

<a href=”https://www.freepik.com">designed by Jcomp — Freepik.com</a>

Part of my treatment plan is to take a pill daily for the next five to ten years to block estrogen production and hopefully prevent a recurrence of cancer.

I hope I can tough it out.

Up to fifty percent of women stop taking these meds before they complete this five to ten year-stint because the side effects can be so profound, and they’re opting for qualify of life instead of lower risk of cancer recurrence.

The most commonly prescribed drugs are selective estrogen receptor modulators like tamoxifen, and aromatase inhibitors like letrozole, anastrozole, and exemestane. An oncologist will recommend one based on your age, menopausal status and tumor pathology.

These meds all have their unique charms and side effects. Tamoxifen can lead to mental fogginess and uterine cancer. Aromatase inhibitors can lead to osteoporosis and elevated cholesterol.

I started taking letrozole a few months ago. The first days were challenging with adjusting to hot flashes and vaginal dryness, which I talked about in a previous article. To mitigate other side effects, I’m making sure to take vitamin D and calcium every day and I’m having infusions of Zometa to mitigate bone loss every six months. I’m sticking to a mostly plant-based diet and keeping tabs on my cholesterol levels.

Joint pain and stiffness have been my most profound side effects. One morning I woke up and could barely shuffle into the bathroom or hold my toothbrush. I was furious, in part because I had to cancel plans with a dear friend. There was no way I could drive to meet her in Anaheim or walk from the parking lot to Downtown Disney.

Since I was stuck at home hobbling around like I’d been out riding on the dusty trail for days, I read up on everything I could to figure out how to hack the side effects and get my life back.

I found articles about how acupuncture has been shown to help some women with letrozole-related joint pain, so I started seeing a local acupuncturist. It helped immensely.

I was able to move around again, and to stand up without feeling like a domino about to topple. I could hold a cup of tea, brush my teeth and open peanut butter jars — actions I’m not taking for granted anymore. I’m also exercising and stretching every single day and taking turmeric, tart cherry juice and MSM glucosamine chondroitin.

I don’t feel entirely back to normal, but most of the time I’m at 90–95% of what I felt like before letrozole.

Shouldn’t there be a better way?

I’m grateful for the scientific advances that have figured out how to reduce the risk of recurrence, but there’s so much room for improvement for the survivor experience.

Letrozole received FDA approval in 2005. Tamoxifen got its FDA approval in 1978. What’s in development now to replace these meds and hopefully deliver more targeted results with fewer side effects? Some exciting advances are being made at the University of Virginia, but it will still be years before this technology is approved and available for humans.

I’m counting down the days until I’m done with the pills — 135 down, only 1690 to go.

What more insights from the eye of the survivor? Follow me here on Medium!

--

--

Ann Van Haney

Being creative in the middle of nowhere is my specialty!